Welcome to the 2nd-IC2MS 2019

Chemistry is often regarded as the centre of science, while material science is considered as the mother of technology. The pair holds an important role in advancing the quality of life, environment, and welfare. The International Conference on Chemistry and Material Science (IC2MS) is organized to provide an international platform for promoting mutual exchange between scientists, discussing innovative ideas in scientific research, and proposing solutions on the contemporary problems through the application of knowledge that stem from research works in chemistry and material science. The conference is organized by the Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, Brawijaya University.

The 1st IC2MS was successfully held in 2017, with more than 200 participants from Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Japan, Taiwan, Brunei Darussalam, and Australia with more than 40 universities/institutions involved as the presenter’s and/or author’s affiliations. Furthermore, selected papers presented in the 1st IC2MS are published in the IOP Conf. Series: Materials Science and Engineering 299 (2017). This achievement was great; thus, we are continuing this event biennially to build up a reputable academic habit and scientific community in Indonesia, with a  theme of:

Advancing to the frontier of innovation in chemistry and material science


2-3 November 2019
Savana Hotel, Malang, Indonesia


Keynote Speakers

Prof. Ibrahim bin Jantan
Taylor’s University, Malaysia

“Synthesis and Evaluation of Curcumin Analogs as Antioxidant, Anti-inflammatory
and Immunosuppressive Agents”

Assist. Prof. Kenji Mochizuki
Shinshu University, Japan

“Computational Study for Phase Transition of Water”

Dr. David Turner
Monash University, Australia

“Coordination Chemistry with a Twist: Chiral Cages and Network Solids”

Assoc. Prof. Akhmad Sabarudin, Dr.Sc
Brawijaya University, Indonesia

“Microfluidic Paper-based Analytical Devices (mPADs) and Their Application to Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry

Invited Speakers

Assoc. Prof. Apinpus Rujiwatra
Chiang Mai University, Thailand

“Crystal Engineering of Lanthanide Coordination Polymers for High-Performance Sensing”

Dr. Hendra Gunosewoyo
Curtin University, Australia

“Strategies to Target Mycolic Acid Biosynthesis in Mycobacteria”

Dr. Mohamad Rafi
IPB University, Indonesia

“Metabolomics Approach for Standardization of Andrographis paniculata Raw Material and Extracts”

Assoc. Prof. Lee Siew Ling
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Malaysia

“Hydrothermal Synthesis of Titanium Dioxide Nanotube Using Methylamine for Photodegradation of Congo Red”

Dr.rer.nat. Witri Wahyu Lestari
Sebelas Maret University, Indonesia

“Modification of Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOFs) as a Novel Material for Hydrogen Storage and Carbondioxide Capture”

Anugrah Ricky Wijaya, DSc
State University of Malang, Indonesia

“Marine geochemical explorations of sediment using Pindexes and Pb isotope ratios”

Dr.rer.nat. Rachmat Triandi Tjahjanto
Brawijaya University, Indonesia



The conference’s scope consists of the following mini-symposiums that run in parallel:

  • Analytical / Bio / Inorganic / Organic / Physical Chemistry
  • Molecular Science
  • Functional Materials
  • Renewable Energy and Fuel Cell
  • Material: Synthesis and Characterization
  • Nanomaterials and Nanodevices


The conference invites students and researchers to attend and present their works in an oral or poster by submitting an abstract for consideration (please use the registration link above). The abstracts will be peer-reviewed and the acceptance for presentation will be announced. Limited space for oral presentation is available, therefore only selected abstract with new scientific findings will be recommended and eligible for oral presentation, hence prepare your abstract properly.

For poster presentation: poster must be in a one-piece A0 or A1 size in portrait orientation (not landscape), HQ pictures/graphs/scheme, the content must be readable by attendees from a distance of 1 m. Generally, the poster consists of Title, Author and author’s affiliation, Introduction, Methods, Result and Discussion, Conclusion, Reference, and Acknowledgement. An X-banner poster will not be accepted. Please also incorporate the IC2MS logo in your poster.


Prospective authors are also invited to submit their full paper (manuscript) to be included in the conference proceedings (peer-reviewed) that will be published by an international publisher or in an accredited journal as requested by the author (Terms and conditions apply):

  1. IOP Conference Series: Material Science and Engineering (Indexed by Scopus), the full paper template is available here.
  2. The Journal of Pure and Applied Chemistry Research (accredited by DIKTI – SINTA2, indexed by CAS, Index of Copernicus, DOAJ), http://www.jpacr.ub.ac.id/, the full paper template is here.
  3. Indonesian Journal of Natural Pigments, https://ejournal.mrcpp.machung.ac.id/index.php/ijnp, the author guidelines is here.

In general, your manuscript should be a minimum of four pages, and a maximum of eight pages, figures/diagrams/schemes must be clear (readable) and in high-quality. In details, please refer to the journal website for article template and author guidelines. The publication fee is not included in the conference registration fee. Most importantly, please proof-read your manuscript, inappropriate and unprepared manuscripts will be rejected.


International Scientific Committee

  • Prof. Ibrahim bin Jantan (Taylor’s University, Malaysia)
  • Assist. Prof. Kenji Mochizuki (Shinshu University, Japan)
  • Assoc. Prof. Apinpus Rujiwatra (Chiang Mai University, Thailand)
  • Assoc. Prof. Lee Siew Ling (Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Malaysia)
  • Dr. David Turner (Monash University, Australia)
  • Dr.Sc. Akhmad Sabarudin (Brawijaya University, Indonesia)
  • Dr.Sc. Lukman Hakim (Brawijaya University, Indonesia)

Organizing Committee

  • Yuniar Ponco Prananto, MSc (Chairperson)
  • Anna Safitri, PhD
  • Dr. Elvina D. Iftitah
  • Zubaidah Ningsih AS., PhD
  • Dr.Sc. Siti Mariyah Ulfa
  • Danar Purwonugroho, MSi
  • Ellya Indahyanti, MSc
  • Masruri, PhD
  • Dr. Arie Srihardyastuti
  • Sri Wardhani, MSi.




ic2ms@ub.ac.id / prananto@ub.ac.id / a.safitri@ub.ac.id.

IC2MS 2019 is supported by:

IC2MS 2019 is co-hosted by: